r&b

Al Wilson, Teddy Pendergrass, Barry White, The Fabulous Dramatics, etc.

These are the cats that rule my playlists on MySpace.

As a kid, R&B was the music that I constantly heard all around me.

My environment- from my neighborhood, school and entertainment venues- was strictly blue collar working class; True blue democratic-no red republicans allowed!!

In my world Monday mornings always started with a slow shuffle.

Tuesdays were always a drag.

Hump days were a little livelier.

Thursdays were kind of jumping.

Come Friday evenings, everybody was thumping with excitement.

The men just fresh off of the work truck, would come marching in.

First stop was to the corner store to cash their checks.

Second stop was to drop that iron to big mama aka boss lady!!!

It seems the kids always needed new school clothes and big mama always needed to get her hair done.

And the tab at the corner store always needed to be paid.

What was leftover, he got to keep.

After he took his shower to wash off the funk of a hardworking man, he got clean and was ready to step off to the juke joint up the street.

On those warm southern nights after we got our allowance, my brother and I would sometimes head up to corner store where we would pass the local juke joint.

Let’s get it on. Aww baby Lets get it on– by the late great Marvin Gaye  always assaulted the senses when we passed by!!

After school, me, my brother and two sisters would stop by my father’s little juke joint to clean and chill before sunset.

In the meantime I would pass the hours doing homework and listening to the box.

Wow!!!

I wanna go outside in the rain by the Fabulous Dramatics would definitely put me in a mellow mood.

Keep in mind readers that I was a pre-teen.

Remember that old adage about Age ain’t nothing but a number?

Well in that case, I was definitely grown and sexy!!

I was really feeling Teddy when he said:

Come on and go with me over to my place

Or Johnny Taylor when he sang:

Who’s making Love to my stone Lady?

Or

What your friends all say is fine, but it can’t compete with this pillow talk of mine by Sylvia!!

Or

How you’re doing? I hope you’re fine. Did your day take you through changes and mess up your mind? I’ll see you when I get there by Lou Rawls.

Or

Betty Wright when she sang:

Tonight is the night that you make me a woman. You said that you’ll be gentle with me and I hope you will.

Lord have mercy!!!

I can’t possibly describe to you the ecstasy I felt and still do whenever I hear vintage Soul/R&B.

Those were magical moments in a magical time in my life.

These songs are what made life in the heart of the poverty stricken Mississippi Delta bearable.

In a chaotic time of economic uncertainty and ethnic genocide and annihilation by our young people, it is this slice of music heaven that still makes life bearable.

Another nostalgic look back!!!

Until next time…

